If you have been injured because of someone else’s negligence, proving your injury and recovering damages may seem like a daunting task. After all, insurance companies are not willing to pay out claims without a fight.
When it comes to building a personal injury claim in Florida, you need to gather many types of evidence to support your claim and seek the compensation you deserve.
What evidence do you need for your personal injury claim?
Below, we will discuss the four types of evidence that you need to gather when filing a personal injury claim in Florida.
You can contact our Winter Haven personal injury lawyer at The Turnbull Firm to help you collect all necessary evidence to prove your claim while you focus on your physical recovery.
Many people underestimate the role of pictures and videos in the outcome of their personal injury case. If possible, you should take pictures and record videos of the scene of your accident in order to support your claim with material evidence.
If you were injured in an auto accident, take photos of the vehicle damage, the cause and extent of your injury, skid marks, weather and road conditions, and other factors that may have contributed to the collision.
A written account of your accident can strengthen your personal injury claim because memories can fade over time. Writing down notes and recording all relevant details is imperative to the success of your case.
Many victims of car accidents prefer to make a voice recording to describe everything that happened.
If anyone witnessed your accident, you should write down their names and contact information. Witness statements play a crucial role in personal injury cases. When you contact a personal injury attorney, he will help you obtain witness statements the right way.
A witness statement is a document describing everything a witness saw that is signed by the witness to confirm that the statement contains correct and accurate information.
Last but not least, you will need to gather all medical bills and documentation related to injury and treatment. Medical bills can not only serve as proof of your injury following the accident but will also help determine the appropriate settlement amount.
Note: If you were injured in a motor vehicle crash, Florida law requires you to seek medical care within 14 days of the accident. This is known as the 14-day rule under Section 627.736, Florida Statutes.
Why you need a Winter Haven personal injury attorney
It can be difficult to gather evidence and prepare your personal injury claim if you have just suffered physical or mental trauma. While you should collect all necessary evidence to the best of your ability, your priority is to take care of yourself and recovery as soon as you can.
For this reason, you need a knowledgeable attorney to help you navigate the legal process, obtain evidence to support your claim, and get a fair compensation amount on your behalf. Speak with our Winter Haven personal injury lawyer Sanga Turnbull to review your case and help you determine what evidence is needed for your claim. Call at 863-324-3500 to receive a free consultation.